Hairbrush Wars and HIMYM

Since my last update, I’ve started about 452 blog posts and abandoned every one. Except the one about the monkey doing chin-ups on the subway. That I’m keeping up my sleeve until the world is ready to hear it.  Aside from the aforementioned primate-meets-elementary school gym class incident, the most exciting things that I have done in the past two weeks are as follows.

1) I got into an epic battle with my roller hairbrush. At least, I think it’s called a “roller hairbrush.” You know, one of those brushes that’s shaped like a cyllinder instead of a paddle? Anyway, it somehow ended up all tangled in my hair. Usually I’d just ask one of my roommates or my mother (if she were in close proximity) to help me pry the monster from my scalp, however I live all alone. It’s just me and the ghosts I sometimes imagine live on the fire escape. I know children read this blog, so I won’t go into any of the morbid details, but this wasn’t pretty. It was full on war. We both suffered numerous casualties– the brush lost many bristles at the point of my scissors, many of my hairs were torn out by the brush’s unyielding teeth. I was even forced to put a few sections of hair out of their misery and cut them off myself. Finally, after this long and tiring battle at 3am, I emerged ugly but victorious. I’m hoping no one will notice the uneven, slightly bald patch on the crown of my head.

2) I watched a TV show. Like, all four seasons of a TV show. In a week. This is huge for me because the last time I watched the entirety of a TV show, from its early years to its grand finale, it was during my “Boy Meets World” phase last summer. Before that I think it was either “The Dick Van Dyke Show” or “I Love Lucy”. It’s not that I have a problem with TV, I just have a problem with most of the things that are on TV. 99% of the time, I’m just not interested. Or I’m interested in the wrong shows. (Like many women alive during the early 21st century, I went through a brief, two month “Sex and the City” phase. I don’t like to talk about it.) Plus, I hate sitting still for too long and there are a great many things I’d rather do than stare at a TV screen. I know everyone hates that girl who’s always bragging that she doesn’t even own a TV, so come on and hate me. My computer screen works perfectly well if I feel the need to take an excursion into the lives of Rob and Laure Petrie or The Ricardos.

After much persuasion by my friends Leah and Quinn, I decided to give the sit-com “How I Met Your Mother” a try. It completely -changed my perception of what TV can and should be. Clever, poignant, well-written and brilliantly executed, this show grabbed a hold of me and wouldn’t let go until I’d finished all previously-aired seasons. During and after my HIMYM binge,  I found myself obsessing about the show the way I usually obsess about a particularly good book. Conventiently, I even took a trip to McGee’s pub– the bar upon which the show’s creators based the fictional MacLaren’s– this week to celebrate Quinn’s birthday. We all “suited up” and continued making HMYM references all evening.

If you haven’t seen thiis show yet, please do yourself a favor and give it a try. It’s legen . . . wait for it . . .I hope you’re not lactose intolerant because the next word is. . . DARY.

Lucky for me, the show was picked up for a fifth season. After watching 90 episodes in 8 days, waiting a week between episodes like the rest of the world is going to be torturous. I don’t know how to be a fan of a show currently on the air.  I feel so CURRENT.

In unrelated news, I’m flying to Texas tomorrow to hang out with my family, swim, eat tacos and attend my own bridal shower. I’m going to try to update from “down south” but if I don’t, I’ll see you when I return!

One response to “Hairbrush Wars and HIMYM

  1. HIMYM is one of teh very bestest shows out there! ❤

Leave a Reply

