Oatmeal Brownie Cookies

This isn’t a vegan food blog. If you’re looking for one of those try this link and this link and this link. It is, however, my blog and since my life often involves vegan cookies, I have given myself permission to blog about cookies from time to time. Don’t worry, you will not start seeing “Tofu Tuesdays” or “Flaxseed Fridays” or poems about nutritional yeast (well, maybe just one haiku).

As I have mentioned previously, I’m a baking fool. I bake when I am stressed, when I’m anxious and when I’m bored. I am also convinced that the best way to show someone I love them is to bake them something. For the most part, people seem to agree.

I’m known to alter recipes until they are almost indistinguishable from the original. It is rare that I actually create something all my own, but after a little bit of experimentation, I came up with this simple treat. This is not a breakthrough, change-the-world, presidential inauguration kind of cookie. More of an “I just got home from work/school/family reunion and just need something simple and chocolatey” kind of cookie. It has sort of a brownie-like texture without all of the messiness and complication brownies sometimes bring. Plus, it has oats in it so you can trick yourself into feel healthier. I used to think that oatmeal cookies were a kind of lame substitute for chocolate chip cookies, but these days I am throwing oats into everything. Maybe I’m trying to make up for all of the bad thoughts I had about oatmeal cookies as a child, or maybe I just like how their crispiness contrasts with the soft interior of the rest of the cookie.If you’re still really offended by oats though, feel free to leave them out and just enjoy the unadulterated chocolatey-ness.

Anyway, enough with the babble. Here’s the recipe!

Oatmeal Brownie Cookies.

1 cup all-purpose flour (though I suspect you could use whole wheat pastry flour for a healthier cookie)

¾ cup rolled oats

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. baking soda

¼ tsp. salt

½ tsp. cinnamon

1/3 cup oil

½ cup almond, soy or rice milk

¾ cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

½ cup chocolate or white chocolate chips (strictly optional)

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large mixing bowl, combine oil, non-dairy milk, extracts and sugar. Mix well. Sift in dry ingredients. Mix until combined. The dough should be a little bit stickier than your average cookie dough. If you’re going to be decadent and use chocolate chips, fold them in here. Drop by the tablespoonful onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool on the cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack (or Tupperware container if you are me and don’t own a cooling rack). Gobble up.

Makes about 12-14 cookies.

I have been trying to consume less wheat lately, so I’m working on a wheat-free version of this cookie too.

Go ahead and give these a try. I promise you, vegan baking isn’t scary! Plus, you’ll become the most popular kid on the playground if you bring cookies with chocolate and oatmeal and brownie-like consistency.

3 responses to “Oatmeal Brownie Cookies

  1. I don’t care how many awesome, vegan cookies you bake. You will always be the coolest kid on my playground.

  2. Maybe Rachel and I will give it a go this weekend. Could be fun : )

  3. i made these and they are yum. Great reciepe! =)

Leave a Reply

