Obligatory End-of-Year Post

There are three types of New Year’s Eve blog entries:

1) Reflective

You’ve got to love those “Looking Back  [insert year here]”  posts. After describing every month in great detail, the blogger in question will probably deduce that the past year has been one of the best years of his or her life. For example:

Sure my wife left me, both of my parents died,  I lost my job and contracted a fatal disease but all of those things are just part of a  learning process! It’s been one of the best years of my life! Bring on 2009!”

It makes you wonder how bad all the other years must have been.

2) The List of Resolutions

In this sort of post the author will discuss all of their bad habits and how they plan to break them in the upcoming year. You’ll see your run-of-the-mill resolutions like “lose ten pounds by next Tuesday” and “be a better person” and “stop assassinating archdukes” but your everyday blogging resolver will not stop there. He or she will also include way too much information about their personal life and bodily functions. For example:

I’ve really gotten lax this past year. Next year I plan to get this rash under control, throw out all of those videotapes involving goats, and buy a toothbrush!

3) The “Best of” List

If you find yourself reading one of these posts you will probably find yourself reading about a lot of movies you don’t care about and songs you don’t remember. There will also  be entire paragraphs about events you did not attend and the greatest moments of someone else’s life. I mean, if you read someone else’s blog this probably happens to you a lot, but I’m talking about this kind of thing:

BEST MOMENT OF 2008: Without a doubt the best moment was that one Saturday at the barn when Mike and I had that conversation. That was so awesome! It totally changed my life! I’m really sorry you weren’t there! You should have been. Like, I can’t even describe it. OMG 208!!!!11!”

This entry is none of the above. I’m going to stray into category number one for a moment, though. I started this blog in 2008 in an effort to get more comfortable with showing my writing to people. The feedback I’ve received from all of you has been so wonderful, I can’t thank you enough. I finished my first novel in 2008 and started my second! I met my fiance in 2008! I auditioned for broadway shows and performed in New York for the first time!  I got to know some of the best people I’ve ever known through amazing online and offline communities. I spent five weeks traveling with my best friend. I made a lot of bad choices and a lot of good ones. Now I’m going to do some resolving. I resolve to start letting people actually read my first novel, Swingnacht in 2009. I resolve to audition more and to get all As. (Long story short, for once in my academic career I did not get all As this semester. I got  a couple Bs and I’m upset. Perfectionism is fun.) ‘

Happy New Year, readers! What’s your favorite kind of New Year’s eve blog entry? What do you want to see me write about in 2009?

4 responses to “Obligatory End-of-Year Post

  1. Spending the summer traveling with you was clearly the best part of 2008 for me 🙂

    The whole engagement fiasco was awesome, of course, but not nearly as enjoyable as traveling around the US with mah bffl 🙂

  2. Shareshareshareshare!

  3. Looking back, the best part of 2008 was resolving to eat fewer cats.

    I’m not sure why I just wrote that. 😉

    Happy 2009 (in 44 minutes!)

    – Jaden

  4. Wow, I haven’t visited here for a over two weeks. Shameful.

    Nevertheless, I probably prefer number 1, since that’s very me. Even the worst times really are things you learn from and I very much believe that.

    I’ve made mistakes this year too, most definitely, but overall it’s been a great one.

Leave a Reply

