Watch me blog!

The real reason I’m updating now is because, frankly, I hate seeing a serious and boring post at the top of my blog. Don’t worry, I still intend to finish my series of boring, serious, rambly posts about faith and academia and all that other ridiculous stuff, but I sort of feel obligated to show that I’m not completely old & stuffy yet. Hey look! I’m an almost-ninteen-year-old college girl and I’m hip!

Erm. Maybe not. I mean, who seriously believes that? (Except the almost-nineteen-year-old part. I have a birth certificate to prove it, suckers.) Let’s try again.

When I’m not writing too-long blogs about theology and grandma’s cookies, I’m very likely getting paid to write corporate blogs. My new job involves blogging for the marketng department of a company which shall remain nameless. The writing part is enjoyable. The sitting in an office part of it is not. Every other job I’ve had, up to this point in my life involved intense physical activity (i.e. performing at a theme park, teaching dance etc.) and I’m not exactly sure how people manage to sit at desks 40 hours per week. I work about 20 hours a week cooped up in an office, staring at a computer screen which is enough to drive me absolutely up the wall. Still, I’m learning a lot about marketing, improving my “journalistic” writing skills and earning a paycheck, so I have no right to complain. This job has made me realize that office jobs really aren’t for me. I have nothing against them, but hopefully, I will never have to work a 9-5 office job again. I seriously don’t fit in.

My non-office job as a bookseller for special events also continues on weekends. Given that I make as much working a 2-3 hour event selling books as I do in a full day writing blogs in the office, I have a feeling that once my paid internship writing blogs finishes in December, I’ll end up just adding a few extra book events to my schedule each week rather than finding another part-time job. Job perks include meeting various well-known authors, getting paid in cash and schedule flexibility. There’s also the whole downside of having to drag suitcases full of books on subways and buses in all kinds of weather, but you get used to it after a while.

Besides all of that job nonesense, I’ve been asked to perform in a couple of choreographic showcases next spring which should be good exposure. I’ve been to a few auditions since getting back to the city and have had several callbacks, but no job offers. It’s like they see me and think “I might like her.  . . oh hahah nevermind. Goodbye.” I’m not super desperate to get dance jobs right now seeing as I’m so far along in school, I might as well just finish as soon as possible and get it over with. If I DID get a job offer, there’s no way I’d be able to refuse it and then I might have to take a year off and then, you know, actually finish college at a normal age instead of when I’m 20. And we all know how much I seem to hate doing things at normal ages, right?

Speaking of school, I have nothing to say about school. Okay, I do have some things to say about school. This is me we’re talking about. I like all of my classes, except one, all of my professors except one and dislike all of the students except one. Not really one. I like more of the students than one, I promise. In fact, it’s a lot easier to like your classmates when you live off campus and can actually escape them when you go home every night. My major and minor are absolutely perfect for me with the exception that I’m now facing a crisis in which I can’t decide if I still want to pursue a Masters in Publishing or if I want to try to get a scholarship to a non-denominational seminary and get a Masters in Divinity. I never, ever considered entering ministry until, like, three weeks ago. Then (to put it simply) . .. BAM. We’ll see. Maybe I’ll do neither. Maybe I’ll get another theme park gig or national tour or a cruise ship job and be finished with college at 20 and not go to grad school of any kind. Maybe I’ll get hit by a bus tomorrow. Who really knows?

In other news, I have been peer pressured into participating in National Novel Writing Month. Swingnacht is coming along ok actually, but I need to start working on something else before I go absolutely insane and start burning my manuscript and going on a pigeon-killing rampage.* Although I barely sleep as it is and have no idea how I’m going to write 50,000 words in 30 days, I’m determined to prove myself wrong. I’m determined to prove myself that I can DO IT ALL: work, school, dance, novel writing and SUCCEED AND BE FINE.  Expect me to resemble inferi* during the month of November. Hopefully, NaNo will help me not think so much when I write. It’s all about quanitity rather than quality, which might actually be good for me.

Right, there’s my obligatory “here’s what’s going on in my life” update. Now I’m going to go sit on the front porch and read the Bible and yell at passing children and do other crazy old lady things. . .  uh, do other things hip, almost-nineteen-year old New York City girls do on weekends.

3 responses to “Watch me blog!

  1. Yay work! I may or may not end up quitting my current job. I mean, the opportunity for a better paying job is available, so why not?

    And yay NaNoWriMo! I may actually try to do it in November.

  2. Hehe, sounds like a job I’d love.

    I sometimes hate all the uncertainty about things. I’m a planner and like to figure out where I’m heading, but when there are options and random things that might happen, there’s only so much planning you can do.

    I love you : ) Just as much when you do crazy old lady things as when you don’t :p

  3. That sounds like a job I might actually like! I wouldn’t mind sitting at a computer all day typing blogs about promotional frizbees. When it comes to BSing things and making it sound smart…ISA taught me everything I need to know on that front. 😉

Leave a Reply

